Dishonest on SF-86 about Drug Use

Thank you for the advice in advance,

I am a sophomore in college and am currently being investigated for an Interim Top Secret clearance with a large defense contractor that requires a polygraph. I said I had never used drugs before on my SF-86 which was not truthful.

I had used marijuana a few instances before back in the summer entering high school (I used to hang around some bad influences and have broken ties with them once I entered high school) and did not smoke any marijuana throughout high school. However, I did take Adderall maybe 2-3 times my junior year of high school to help study for a variety of exams. In college, I took a Focalin once my freshman year to help study for finals. After freshman year, I acquired an internship that didn’t require any sort of drug testing so I thought it would be okay to use marijuana throughout the summer without thinking of future consequences. I smoked around once a week over this past summer.

Since then I have discontinued all drug use and will not use any in the future. I submitted my SF-86 5 months ago and I’ve been nothing but remorseful of my decision to withhold the above info. Not only do I feel absolutely dreadful about this decision, I also don’t want to be denied further clearance in the future due to an untruthful SF-86. To be honest, I was scared I would be barred from employment if I included that I had used drugs in the past. As I read more online I realized that was a huge mistake and there are plenty of instances of people being granted clearance despite having past drug use.

Do you all have any advice on what steps I should take moving forward? I am thinking I want to contact my security manager and outline what I have said here but I don’t want to be rash. I also don’t want to lose such a great opportunity to something as foolish as lying on an application.

Thanks again