Treatment for the use of drugs. Help completing my SF86

I’m working this weekend on my SF86 for a contractor job for DOS. I’ve never done this before, though I’ve had extensive background checks for private sector jobs with high responsibility. I’m keen on being very transparent. However, I also don’t want to introduce confusion or cause concern with inaccurate answers.

5 years ago i was arrested for “possession of marijuana less than one ounce”. The court agreed to dismiss the charges if I informally attended a series of NA/AA meetings. I did so and Bob’s your uncle.

The question asks “Have any of the following ordered, advised, or asked you to seek counseling or treatment as a result of your illegal use of drugs or controlled substances?”

This can easily be read to be a distinctly different thing than my situation. This question seems to be asking something more pointed. I had, however answered in the affirmative, wanting to be fully transparent.

But then the following questions ask for the name address and telephone number of “The treatment provider”, and there was none. It’s anonymous. :wink: I attended meetings in multiple locations, fitting them in between long work hours where I could. It also asks if I successfully completed the ‘treatment’, of which there was none and therefore cannot be a ‘success’ or a ‘failure’.

I just had coffee and cookies and politely attended the meetings and got a signature on a sheet of paper which I gave my lawyer to show the court that Ihad attended as promised.

So, answering affirmatively put me in a position where I cannot complete the form. This seems emperically to indicate that my response to the question should not be affirmative. If I could divulge -and- complete the form, I’d be happy to do so…

I hope this is sufficiently coherent, I’m not used to such questions and the rigor required to respond appropriately. I’d sure appreciate some insight.

Thank you!