Applying for job requiring Public Trust - Expunged Felony

Hello,

I’m being recruited for a job that has the following requirement:

• Will be subject to a background investigation by the government and must be able to meet the
    requirements to hold a position of public trust.

I wasn’t a good person in my late teens, and I got nailed for 2 felonies. One was grand theft (California 487.1), and the other was manufacturing explosives without a permit (California 12305). The convictions were in 1993. My sentence was 1 year county time, of which I did 4 months. I got out, did my probation, and turned my life around. Since then, I have only gotten a single speeding ticket in 1996. I’ve been a senior engineer at a fortune 500 company for a very long time. Raised my son, and have owned my home since 2000. In 2014, I got the charges expunged. The grand theft was reduced to a misdemeanor prior to the expungement since it’s classed as a “wobbler” offense. The explosives charge was not, but it was straight expunged. My credit history is great as well, and my FICO score hovers between 780 and 820.

The obvious question is, should I risk leaving my current job, only to have this potentially bite me? Or will my life after conviction, in conjuction with the expungements be enough to show I’m okay now?

I’m thinking that I’d need to disclose the explosives charge regardless, but not the theft one. I’m not positive though, and any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks!

You may have to disclose both since you were originally charged with felonies. The expungement doesn’t really matter. However, there’s no reason to think that almost 30 years of clean living will not mitigate the mistakes of your youth.

You may not need to leave your current position. They may put you in for the public trust and only have you start after you clear that hurdle.

2 Likes