Public Trust question for felon

Hi guys,

Tried doing a bunch of searches and just wanted to get your opinion. I recently started a new position where I’m being put on projects that require a public trust designation. I have a felony where I was charged with statute 2c:35-5A(1) Mnuf/Distr CDS or Intent to Manuf/Distr CDS. I was in possession of marijuana. I was arrested in 2011 which is outside of the 7 year window for the of306 but I was on probation which started in 2012 and ended in 2013. My 2 year probation was ended in about 1 year for successfully completing the drug program, community service, testing and through a recommendation of my probation officer. Since the arrest occurred I graduated college with honors and have been working other than a gap where I changed career field and spent time studying. I wanted your opinion on if you think I will receive my public trust designation. I haven’t told my co-workers about my past so this has been stressing me out. I should have gotten my record expunged but haven’t gotten around to completing the process.

Thanks for your help

The distribution/manufacture charge is an issue, simple possession not so much. It will depend on the circumstances of the arrest and charge. Was the charge based on the amount in your possession or were you actually guilty of the crime charged? You don’t have to tell us but you know yourself.

Expungement really doesn’t make much difference in this context. You are still required to self-report and they look at the circumstances of the arrest and what was really happening, not at the charge or the plea.

We were arrested with a number of other charges and we accepted this single charge as part of a plea agreement. I believe it was based on the amount but don’t remember exactly. The reason i mention expungement is because the OF306 states we can omit any conviction for which the record was expunged.