Career Options after OPM Background Investigator?

I would like to resign from my one year as a OPM Background Investigator; I am a contractor. What other career options do I have after this? I have no computer/tech degree and no military experience. Any recommendations? Can I do anything with the skills I’ve learned from the job? I am looking for a real career.

You will find very little transferable skills. This is a very unique niche. More than likely you’ll have to reinvent your career.

One suggestion: look into Facility Security Officer (FSO) type of work.

You are not alone, the rigors of this job will definitely make you rethink career choice. I can say, no one can out “admin” an OPM investigator, if there’s one thing we’re good at it’s making sure forms are filled out properly. Additionally, maybe think about recruiting because you’ve developed skills to influence people and ask a bunch of questions to get the answers you need. Law enforcement is also a natural progression, I’ll bet people have mistaken you for a federal agent on more occasion than one. Even consider other agencies such as DHS or Secret Service, I saw a job announcement for background investigators for them a couple months back. You already have a favorably adjudicated investigation, have you considered intelligence analyst? If you’re with a vendor whose bread and butter isn’t investigations look and see what options are available to you with that vendor, its much easier to transition when you have your foot in the door. If all else fails, join the military and choose your new career.

I know doing OPM work is pretty miserable, it’s a pretty specific skillset, and people always demonize it, but I’ll have to disagree with @Duetooversight, though to an extent.