Changing Jobs during a Periodic Reinvestigation

I’m a contractor with a TS. I submitted my SF-86 in e-QUIP for a PR a couple of weeks ago.

The contract I’m working on ends next June and I’m not sure whether or not my company will win the re-compete (don’t think the contractee has been too happy with my company).

Due to the backlog and wait times, I know it is unlikely my Tier 5 PR will be finished in less than a year before the contract ends.

I asked my FSO what will happen if they don’t win the contract next year and I am let go. She said that she will not “close” the PR and will leave it open for me until I find another job (she said within reason like a couple of months or so). She said this is not uncommon and that she would simply transfer the PR to my new FSO in JPAS. She said as long as there is a “home” for me then it’s not a problem. She said that the time between I am let go (i.e. the contract ends) and find a new job would not count as a Loss of Jurisdiction. She said she has handled incoming employees in the pass who were in this position. I also asked if employers were reluctant to hire people who are in the midst of a PR and she said in her experience they didn’t have a problem with it.

I’ve read a bunch online how it’s not a good idea to change jobs during a PR but what about if a contract ends and I have no choice? Does the info she provided above sound correct?

Also, what if I decide to change jobs before the contract ends? Does the same sequence of events apply?

Any info and/or insights would be appreciated.