Clearance chances

I’m wondering about the chances of me getting a clearance.

I’m currently a graduate student, looking at jobs with contractors in the coming months. I have lots of student loan debt (100k+), but being that I’m single with no dependents, I can cover this with my expected salary.

I have a history of heavy alcohol use. Pretty well drunk most nights of the week, for a few years. Never once a legal issue, no DWI, DUI, or other encounter. It’s been something I do at home to pass time, never when I have something important coming up. I have no problem abstaining when needed. I’ve recently (last several weeks) stopped drinking. I don’t intend to touch alcohol again for a long time.

I have no criminal background, no drug use, no other questionable personal issues.

Can anyone give me an idea of how much this is going to impact my chances of getting either a Secret or Top Secret clearance? If I need a clearance (which is quite likely), I’m expecting to start the process in a few months. Would I be better off delaying a while, to build a history of abstinence? Or am I better off looking for jobs that don’t require clearance at all?

The problem here likely isn’t the drinking, although that may come into play. The fact that there has never been a legal issue is great, so there shouldn’t be too much worry there.
The student loan debt is a large problem, unfortunately. Even if you have a plan to work it off and you know you can do it, a large debt like that would make anyone worried. There are some investigators here that will likely give you their exact thoughts, but for example someone in my group had $20k in debt and it was a big deal for his personal interview and came up constantly during the entire process.

You should look into this post: https://discuss.clearancejobsblog.com/t/alcohol-consumption/16