Drug use while working for the Government

Hoping someone can give me insight. I’ve been working for the DOD for 3 years now (currently 23) when i first started in October of 2019 i was freshly out of my first year of college and had experimented with marijuana use. Before college i had not used any drugs at all and college is where it started. Marijuana was my go to and i experimented 4 times with ecstasy, used Molly 7 times, took LSD twice and did cocaine once all between September of 2018 to December of 2020. Marijuana was my go to like i said and used it daily until cutting off completely January 5th of 2022 on my own when i started a new role in my company that requires a secret clearance. I haven’t been asked to do my secret clearance paperwork for some reason but i am thinking about applying to a TDY position in another country for the same company and i know i will be required to do a SF86 form for it . People have told me say no on the drug question others have said be honest, i don’t want to ruin my chances of obtaining a TS/SCI if the opportunity arises in the future for a job. I do have some debt that i have been paying off i have about $3,000 in CC debt and $10,000 in student loans that are deferred at the moment. My question is does my drug use automatically disqualify me since it’s so recent and since i used drugs while holding a government job? I did do Equip back in 2020 i don’t remember if there was a drug question i do know it asked the basic residence history, work history and asked for references. I can’t access my equip anymore for some reason to see what it was for.

1 Like

I do not know if your drug use will disqualify you or not. However, never, ever, lie on your SF-86. If you lie and it is later discovered, you will most certainly be automatically disqualified and lose any existing clearance. Lying is absolute proof that you are dishonest and not to be trusted.

3 Likes