Lied about being fired for Air Force clearance. Chances?

Hi guys! I’m currently a nurse practitioner student under scholarship from the Air Force. I have already sworn in and everything. Just a quick question that had me worried.

I was fired from my first ever job when I was a new graduate for failing to meet new grad parameters. I was ashamed of that past (4 years ago). I had 2 jobs later which I never had any problems for incompetency. I have even acted as a preceptor to students, new graduates, and experienced staff new to the hospital.

So I lied about being fired on my SF-something form. I had my interview, initially told him the same thing until at the very last part he told me a flag came up stating that I was fired. I tried to come up with a reason, then finally gave in and told him the truth. I told him that the reason why I did that was because I was ashamed as well as the facts from above plus perhaps some immaturity being that it was my first ever job. Everything else I told him was the absolute truth.

Any idea how this will affect my chances for getting an Air Force security clearance for medical professionals?

Also, how long will I have to wait normally to hear something back on any decisions?

I don’t know what your chances of being cleared are but based on what you wrote:

-You put down knowingly false information on a National Security Clearance Questionnaire,
-You knowingly signed an affidavit on the eQuip attesting that the information you provided was complete and accurate to the best of your knowledge (a felony BTW)
-You then knowingly provided false information to a federal investigator with intent to deceive (another felony), and then
-Finally admitted the conduct when, and only when, you were presented with evidence against you.

Frankly, it doesn’t look very good to me but then again, I am not an adjudicator. Repeated lack of candor looks really bad.

3 Likes