Likelihood for interim secret?

I am starting the process for a secret clearance. I currently hold a Public trust which was granted in 2019. Prior to this I had actually received an unsuitable determination on a public trust in 2017 due to marijuana use within the past year at the time which I reported on the SF-86.

Since this was clearly mitigated enough for the public trust I got in 2019, I am assuming it won’t be an issue now, however I am curious about if it might put be in different stack of papers, so to speak. Can anyone speak to how likely I am to get an interim due to already holding a public trust, even though my background isn’t totally blemish-free? Or if there’s a possibility the investigation will take longer than normal due to background?

So it sounds like the marijuana use was in 2016. That’s about five years ago. Since you reported it on the previous SF-86, there’s no issue with regard to failure to disclose it. Still, it is hard to say whether or not this would prevent you from being granted an interim secret clearance. I would say in most cases it should not, but I’m saying that mainly because they seem to be getting more and more tolerant of such cases… as long as it was limited use and nothing more recent than the past year or two (wouldnt be surprised if some cases are even less than one year previous).

Thanks. Any idea for how long the interim usually takes? Am I notified if I DONT get the interim or do I just not hear anything?

It seems to vary widely. One thing to keep in mind, not getting an interim has little impact on whether or not you will get the final clearance. It can mess things up if your employer expects you to get an interim within a certain amount of time.

Right, and that’s my worry. This is an internal move for a new role with a contractor I already work for, so I’m just concerned about that timeline. Hoping to get it in 2 months which I realize could be unrealistic…