Pending charge--offerred federal position that requires "Q" Nonsenstive background investigation

Good Afternoon. I am currently pending a shoplifting charge from December (misdemeanor) and have a court date scheduled for next month. I was selected for a federal position which requires a “Q” non-sensitive background investigation. I am thinking of turning down the offer as I don’t want the embarrassment of an unfavorable adjudication. Especially, because the place that I will be working at— is at my current place of employment (I am currently a government contractor with a favorable NACI investigation). Do you think I should accept the tentative offer and take the chance of denial? Or just play it safe and turn down the position, that way everyone and their dog at work doesn’t know of my criminal past? Any advice/comments will be appreciated. Thanks!

I would go for it if I were you. A shoplifting charge isn’t a dealbreaker I don’t think. It doesn’t look good but hopefully you don’t have a habit of breaking the law and/or other adjudicative issues. I have issues from my past that isn’t fun to talk about but it made me who I am today and in your situation I say it is worth a shot.

1 Like

Your terminology is confusing and it is hard to discern what you are really needing investigation-wise. A “Q” level clearance is the equivalent to a Top Secret and is definitely “sensitive”. That would require a Tier 5 National Security investigation. As stated by Mike, it is not a deal breaker, but a pending misdemeanor charge may definitely hold it up.

1 Like

I’m sorry–it’s actually just a public trust background investigation. I was looking at the wrong document. Since it’s not a clearance, do you think I would be denied CAC access? Thanks for responding.