TS Investigation - Driving Record

Good Morning,

I currently work as a government contractor with a secret clearance, but I was just offered a government position that will require a TS. I am reluctant to accept the position because I am very concerned about my driving record. My fiance and I just recently had a baby and it would be a terrible time to go from a stable job with a clearance to having neither.

My driving record over the past 7 years includes the following:

Speeding: 09/2013, 07/2015, 03/2016, 05/2018, 09/2019
Operating uninspected vehicle: 12/2013 and 01/2017

The 03/2016 offense was a reckless that was reduced to speeding due to faulty equipment.

Beyond the traffic infractions, the rest of my background is clean. I have no foreign contacts, I am financially sound and no drug/alcohol use. What do you all think the chances are of me getting a favorable outcome with my clearance?

Thank you all for your time.

Traffic isn’t an adjudicative factor per say…however your judgement may get called into question. I’m guessing yuo pay a healthy insurance cost with that many tickets. I know in Virginia a reckless driving will cost a lot of money.Over $1500 for one of my recent employees after factoring in court costs, lawyer fees, etc. But he did not do jail time so that was a plus. Basically slow down. Any fines over $300 will require reporting.

Thank you for the response Amberbunny2. I also live in the DMV area, and you’re right, my insurance is pretty high. As for my personal conduct, I guess they would just look to see if there are additional negative factors to tip the scales in an unfavorable direction?

Altough traffic offenses in and of themselves are not disqualifying, when there is a pattern of behavior that leads to multiple traffic citations then there may be concerns from an adjudicative point of view. The ADR states:

Multiple traffic citations for reckless or high-speed driving, including driving with a