Applying to Different Area After Suitability Denial

Hi guys, I received a suitability denial from a three letter agency a couple months back. The suitability denial was for lack of candor which came out in the polygraph.

I was wondering a couple of things about this: what are my chances if I would like to re-apply to the same agency but under another “department” let’s call it. This is another area within the agency that I had not previously applied to. I am a student and would like to apply for an internship for next summer (like I had done a year and a half ago). I have already had a complete background investigation done on me so that should still be within scope.

Additionally, what would the timeline look like for me to re-apply. Do I have to wait the full year that they mentioned in the denial letter or is it different if I am applying to another area in the same agency.

Thanks

There will be a zero chance you are accepted.

1 Like

To second @velcroTech anything having to do with lack of candor over the course of the process, especially with an IC organization, pretty much completely bars you from employment with that organization.

The good thing here is that a suitability denial is not a clearance denial, so you won’t have to report it on future applications and, assuming the IC agency you’re referring to is the one I believe it is, they operate their process fairly independently so the likelihood of them informing other organizations or systems of your being dishonest is slim to none. Therefore, you might be able to apply with other organizations, assuming you’re honest the next time around.

Well I’m not sure it will blackball you for life, but you will certainly have to wait the full year as specified in the letter. Even if it is a different department, it is the same agency with the same security requirements, and the same group will be conducting the investigation.