Back on the Market Once My SCI Is Approved?

I’m currently a contractor for an alphabet agency, waiting to take a CI polygraph, and I have a question. Once I complete the poly and it’s approved, can I then go back on the market and look for a new position? Are there limitations on this? An SCI definitely adds a more value to my earning potential and I’d like to take full advantage of that.

It always pays to keep your resume up to date.

Also helps to interview every now and then just to keep in practice :slight_smile:

You never know when a great opportunity might pop up… or when you might suddenly be forced into making a change.

1 Like

Excellent points, all. Contracting has had some abrupt ups and downs. Honestly it’s part of what’s pushed me toward a more mercenary mindset: not knowing when I could be dropped (for any reason) makes me much more hesitant about settling in anywhere and more concerned about the best deal for me.

1 Like

While you’re definitely more “marketable”, be cautious of agreements signed with the agency, usually you must be employed with us for XX year(s) or you agree to pay us back the cost of the clearance / investigation etc.

Also in my hiring experiences in the past, I’ve seen resumes etc where people were just awarded a TS/SCI and are already “jumping ship” to get a new job since they are more marketable. You want to talk about questions of loyalty / longevity that will definitely make someone go hmmm

1 Like

That’s fair with regard to jumping ship. Good point.

As far as the agency agreements, safe to assume you mean a direct position with said agency? I’m an outside contractor and said agency required the SCI after I’d been hired. I haven’t seen any paperwork referencing any deal comparable to what you mentioned. Might this also come up after the SCI is finalized?