Career Change to Contract BI?

Hi everyone!

I have been thinking about a career change and would appreciate any opinions.

I have been offered an opportunity to work as an independent contract background investigator with Peraton. Their pay schedule is approximately the following:

• main subject interview : $250
  • associate interview: $60
  • obtaining records: $30

The opportunity to have a flexible schedule and choose how much I work is appealing.

I have the following questions…

1. Based on this pay numbers, is it realistic to think I can make $75,000 a year (before taxes)?

2. As a contractor, I am thinking about job security… is there enough work throughout the year (and in the future) to sustain a livable income?

3. For other independent BI contractors out there…. how is it going for you so far? Any regrets?

Thank you all !

Just going by the numbers here.

$75000 pre tax would be $6250 per month (75K divided by 12). Let’s say you only do ESIs at $250 per interview. To get to $6250 per month you would need to transmit 25 ESIs per month. That’s a little over 6 per week, round up to 7 per week. If you focus solely on sources (not sure what an associate interview is, assuming it’s a source interview) that’s 104 per month or 26 per week.

As a contractor you can shop other vendors to see who is paying the best rates. You can also work for multiple vendors (with some restrictions) and pick up other contracts (non DCSA)

Realizing it’s usually a mix of item types. Depending on where you are located, this is doable (if the case volume is there) but it is a full time job.

There are other factors as well: Are you having to pay for health benefits? Is there mileage reimbursement? Cost of office supplies (paper, internet, ink, etc) Are you disciplined enough to set aside money for the tax bill that will come at the end of the year?