Clearance Suspension Process

Originally published at: https://clearancejobsblog.com/clearance-suspension-process/

For current security clearance holders there are some things you should know if you ever happen to have your security clearance suspended. Most federal agencies use similar guidelines and procedures when suspending an individual’s clearance, but the focus of this post will be on DoD’s process which is outlined in DoD-M 5200.02. Here are the…

Hi Marko,
Is there any timeline that the Government follows to resolve suspension cases? My full secret and interim top secret clearances were temporarily rescinded by the Defense Security Servives (DSS) in March 2018. The DSS provides no reason for this rescission and I am waiting to hear since then.
I am a federal contractor and this information is new to me that DoD CAF also considers employer’s recommendations along with other information whether to revoke or reinstate.

1 Like

No timelines are established, only that it cannot be indefinite. They should have provided a general reason for suspending, ask your FSO to inquire.

I really appreciate your reply.
My case is in adjudication since October 17 (confirmed this from OPM). My FSO told me that government is not providing any reason for my clearance rescission. However, he advised me to check my finances as finances are very common for clearance rescission/suspension. I find that my account was delinquent due to an unpaid car tax bill pending from last year. The car tax amount was $200 which I paid right away. Since, the tax amount was insignificant I am assuming this could not be the reason of clearance recsission.
I am a federal contractor and now a department within DoD is very interested to hire me. This job only requires Non- Sensitive Public Trust. They interviewed me last week and checked my references. I am really interested to get this job and I also informed them about my situation.