Discrimination in cybersecurity

I am curious…how pervasive is discrimination in the cybersecurity field?

That’s a pretty broad question. Discrimination against who? Women? Dual citizens? People who hold liberal arts degrees? People under 5’10"?

1 Like

I’m under 5’10" and have a liberal arts degree and never had any problems in cyber. He must mean flat earth deniers or Trekkies who also like Battlestar Galactica.

4 Likes

I’ve been working in IT for over 30 years, the most recent half or so of that in various flavors of cybersecurity, INFOSEC, information assurance, whatever the buzzword of the month is, and I’ve never seen any discrimination. Lots of commentary about ID10T or PEBCAK errors, or problems caused by a loose nut on the keyboard, but those are all about user (and sometimes those users were “behind the curtain” - admins do stupid stuff too) knowledge or cluelessness, but nothing related to skin color, ethnicity, gender, whatever the oppressed characteristic of the month is. Most of the groups with whom I worked - the admins, developers, help desk - were a mix of men and women, Black, White, Asian, short, tall, fit, fat. The one defining characteristic? They knew their stuff and they could make it happen. Nothing else really mattered.

If you’re at a small company you’ll be able to tell right away. It can be prevalent, but I find it less so in fed/gov contracting where you’re directly embedded with the client.

0%. Individual work environments may vary however.