Do applicants get spied on?

I know this sounds childish, but I want to know. A family friend mentioned that the two agencies I’m processing with, NSA and CIA, are watching my every move. I’m not doing anything illegal or troubling that would jeopardize U.S. national security if I were to get a job, but it would be nice to know if they do this.

I have seen some very unusual things both here in the U.S. and in Russia and Kazakhstan, two places where I studied abroad, to believe that this is true, but I’d like to know from the community. And please, just straight-forward answers. Keep the jokes, sarcasm, and cynicism to a minimum.

No. I wouldn’t tell that family friend much about your processing if they think that. I would have to guess you are processing for language analyst with studying abroad at those locations. I have seen those timelines drag out worse than mine. I wouldn’t worry about any “spying”.

2 Likes

If you have traveled to Russia and Kazakhstan, the NSA and CIA were already watching your every move. Before your travel they likely “chipped” you with a locator anyway . . .

On a more serious note . . . They aren’t following you. They don’t have the manpower to complete their mandated mission which is why they are looking to hire you in the first place!

7 Likes