Fired due to performance issues and not disclosing it on SF85P

I worked in IT. In Jan 2023 while on Secret Clearance I was fired due to performance issues after a 3 weeks performance improvement period. My current job requires a Public Trust Clearance (SF85P Tier 4 high risk). I didn’t disclose about firing on SF85P. In interview last month for Public Trust the investigator caught me and I confessed. He said he is not the Adjudicator but it does not look good on me. What are my chances should I quit my job and ask the company to withdraw my application. If I am denied Public Trust will I also lose my Secret (SF86) which is coming up for 5 year PR in one month. Shouldn’t have lied @sbusquirrel @Marko please help

As I understand it, you are no longer using your Secret correct? That means it probably went inactive. They will not reinvestigate an inactive clearance. Also, you may have been on CE so then they wouldn’t reinvestigate anyway. However, if you try to re-activate it for a new job within a year, then you may have a problem. Time should heal it. I wouldn’t just quit. But I’m not an expert so will defer to the real experts.

As I wrote in the article below, not disclosing it is what will get you. Depends on how the agency reviewing your case will look at it, as well as the fact you are in a high risk PT position. No one can tell you which way it will go, each case is based on it’s own merit:

Thanks @Marko for the reply. The investigator told me sometimes the Adjudicator leave the final decision at the mercy of the Sponsoring Govt agency (Dept of Commerce in my case) also in case if it’s denied will I also lose my Secret Clearance.

If you are no longer working for the agency that granted the clearance then you do not have an active Secret.

It is still Active I have checked with my FSO because the last time I used Secret was 1 year ago. It only becomes Inactive if not used for 2 years.