Past Employer Not Completely Truthful

I am currently an intern with a federal agency, and I submitted an SF-85. I had no issues. I’ve been extended an offer for a permanent position with the agency. I completed the SF-85P for a high risk public trust position. Yesterday, I got an email today about a discrepancy between the results of a previous investigation and my current answers. I answered no to the question about if I’ve ever been fired, quit instead of being fired, etc. To my knowledge, this answer was true, and I still believe my answer to be accurate.

One employer said I quit to avoid potential firing. What actually happened is that I was planning to resign because I was transferring to another school. It was a student job, and I was waiting until the end of the school year. In the very last week of the school year, I got an email accusing me of something I didn’t do and putting me on probation for the fall semester and that they’d reevaluate after that. The email explained that I had attendance issues, as well. I believed my absences were excused because I only missed work for classes and other educational obligations. I responded to the email by resigning. I explained that the accusation was false and that I was resigning because of my other commitments (which were an issue for this employer because I didnt work as much as they wanted).

I completely believed that this was not quitting to avoid firing because I wasn’t being fired. I was not told I would be fired, and I never worried that I would be. If I didnt transfer, I’d probably be working there. I explained this in detail to the investigator, but I didn’t get any response. I also sent her the email thread where my supervisor made the accusation (unfinished assignment and absences) and where I responded with a resignation (my reasoning being other commitments).