LSD Usage & TS Clearance

Hello all! Hoping to hear opinions on my current situation.

I am hitting my one year anniversary at my job (I am a Criminal Intelligence Analyst) in which I am undergoing a TS Clearance for. We are state funded, and assist narcotics investigations, so you must have a clearance to keep the job. The FBI is doing my Clearance and I was completely honest on my SF86 about my past drug usage that took place when I was in high school. I smoked weed randomly/ occasionally with friends for about two years. I also experimented with LSD 4-5 times (can’t remember exact number) during my senior year of high school. I disclosed all of this Information. I am now 23 years old, so it has been well over 5 years since I have done any drugs.

My supervisor informed me that I should be hearing back soon to schedule my clearance interview, and that he believed “no news is good news” but I’m obviously still very nervous. My drug use from high school is pretty humiliating especially given where I am currently working. Please let me know any thoughts and opinions, thank you!

The time since last use and your age at time of use are mitigating factors, along with your current employment situation and (presumably) change of life circumstances such that you no longer associate with drug users or find yourself in situations where they are being used.

On the other hand, since this is for a counternarcotics related position, it might still be an issue of concern.

I expect the investigator will want to go into this in detail and probably try to get you to admit to more drug usage… it isnt so much a reflection on you as an indication that a lot of people do not disclose everything on the SF-86 and do admit to more usage.

Hard to say for sure but it will probably be OK… although it will be pretty stressful until you get the final thumbs-up.