Secret adjudication time during Covid

Hi all,

Apologies if this has been asked before, or recently. After waiting about 9 months, my employer finally put me in for a Secret to assist on DOS related matters. I’m not sure who it’s through (DOD perhaps?), however, I filled out the E-QIP and finished fingerprinting last week. For reference, I’ve been a federal contractor supporting primarily DOJ projects for 5.5 years and had a DOJ Public Trust - which I know is not a clearance - for the duration.

I had one round of edits last week that my company FSO notified me of (I made them and resubmitted the E-QIP later that day), and assuming there’s not another round of edits, is there a timeline insofar as how long a Secret would take to be adjudicated during the current covid situation?

Additionally, is there further steps in the process, assuming there’s no errors or issues, that I should expect to occur? I’m under the impression that my wife will be interviewed, and/or family/friends may (or contacted somehow), but I’m also curious if these meetings are still going on in person during the current pandemic. I’m not worried about anything, but more trying to ascertain the process.

Everything on my E-QIP was filled out accurately, I have no legal/ancillary issues that would cause any issues for what it’s worth (no criminal or civil history, no financial issues, etc).

Thanks in advance for any assistance and/or insight you can provide.

Ive had a video interview with the investigator. Lasted about an hour

Someone told me that they are seeing final secret clearances being granted for contractors as quickly as two months, with almost all being completed in well under 12 months. Most typical timeline 6-9 months. That’s from start to finish, for people who have never been cleared before.

Just thought I’d toss that out there

1 Like

How long did it take after your interview to receive your clearance?