Seemingly uncommon processing sequence

Processing for a contract linguist position and the sequence seems to be a little reversed (or not, I’m pretty new to this). I have a couple friends who are linguists and the first thing they did was take language tests, followed by a CJO and SF-86. Well, the first thing I did was my SF-86 for a TS/SCI. No CJO either. I’ve asked the recruiter a couple times about my languages tests and was told that the goal is to get my clearance/ SCI access, then my language skills will be tested. The recruiter seems plenty confident and they process for some bigger contracts, so I believe her. Just seems like a strange order of doing things. It’s not a rare language either, so I don’t imagine they’re hurting for people.

The only time I’ve seen something similar was on a DOD physical security contract. Everyone was flown overseas, where we took PT/ shooting tests. If you didn’t pass, you were sent home.

Anyone have any similar experience as linguists, or in other roles?

Yes. I had it both ways. When I was processing for a contract linguist position directly with a three letter agency I started with taking and passing all the language tests, followed by SF86, poly, BI.
Now I am being processed for a DOD client by a contractor. I did take some easy language exams with them so they know I am not a phony and they moved with SF86 followed by BI. I was told when I get my TS/SCI, then I will do the poly and testing with the client.
Hope that helps.

1 Like

It does, thank you. (character limit)

In addition to what @Dima said, sometimes contractors are trying to get eligible candidates for contracts they have not won. If you filled out an SF86 but did not submit an eQIP they might be performing an internal assessment on your eligibility.

That is true, but in my experience companies usually use their own forms for the pre-screen.