Should I even bother interviewing for this SCI job?

I have three interviews lined up now and they are for dream jobs. But I realize now that an SCI clearance is necessary at some point for each of them.

I smoked weed for a nine month period in 2014 to 2015. I was influenced into it because of a relationship I was in but that’s kind of a cowardly defense: I take responsibility for my decision and frankly, back then I never thought I was gonna be qualified enough to be in a position where this would come back to bite me. I stopped smoking in 2015 but - just my luck! - I had an edible while at a wedding in Colorado a week before I learned about my interviews. That’s the only time since 2015 I slipped up.

I’m an attorney so I know better than to lie on an SF-86. More importantly, I just don’t want to start a career with a lie. So, if I’m going to tell the truth and if the truth definitely means I won’t have been drug-free for the 12-month minimum is there any plausible way I can pass? Is mitigation even an option here or should I just pull out and not waste anyone’s time.

Nobody here can really answer your question . . .

But, a little more information might help us give you some insight: For one thing, how old were you when you were smoking? What agency, or type of agency, are interviewing with?

Youthful experimentation, while frowned upon, is not a killer. The more recent use is more problematic but could still be mitigated if addressed properly.

As a lawyer, you should be able to interpret the adjudication guidelines as well as anyone. You have, like many asking questions here, made your path more difficult, but you haven’t driven completely off of the road yet.

2 Likes