should i take some time away from gov contracting?

I have been working as contractor for a a few years now and currently hold a public trust. this was the first job coming out of college and I have been looking to transition to another job recently. I have interviewed with several companies and have a few offers. all require a minimum public trust. I interviewed for a TS/CSI w/ poly position and although interview went well, I did not pass their initial security prescreening. As you can imagine poly entails a thorough investigation into someone’s life so I was completely honest. I realized in this prescreening that I did not disclose the few instances where I experimented with marijuana while in college (early 2010s) in my first investigation that gave me my current public trust. My college years are a blur to me. I drank a lot back then and experimented with marijuana while intoxicated 2 or 3 times probably. Last summer/fall I also tried an edible once while holding my current trust. Marijuana is not a part of my life, I don’t use it and don’t have any desire to use it. I simply made the mistakes of 1) not disclosing my experimental use while college in my first investigation and 2) my slip of judgement last year when i tried that edible which I regret so much now. Being considered for TS w/ poly made me realize I need to make sure to disclose this in any future investigation because I definitely would like a TS+poly clearance at some point in my career. My concern here is if I were to accept one of the offers which only require a public trust, and I disclose my experimental use while in college and admit to trying an edible last year, is it likely that i will get rejected since i didn’t disclose it in my first investigation and also due to the fact that I tried an edible while holding a public trust? I am scared I will get rejected and therefor not be able to apply for another year. Should I avoid gov contract jobs for a while right now? should I wait at least un