This process and traveling... and living life while in limbo

Hi All!
I’m new here and I am wondering about the process. From everything I have been reading, this process is long and unique to everyone and their own personal experiences. I was told this can take 6 months to 18 months and this correlates with what I’ve been reading here.

My timeline:

I will require a TS/SCI

I applied for a position in Oct 2017.
Interviewed in March 2018 (via hireview, so not even in person on site), was told I would hear back in two weeks. It was a long two weeks and I kept checking in during that time with my POC.
Sept 2018 I received a CJO
Oct 2018, submitted equip.
Dec 2018, they had a question for me on financials
Jan 2019, I was notified that they are processing my paperwork
Feb 2019 they needed clarification on employment while I was a grad student

I’ve traveled out of the country because I am an archaeologist and my research has been out of the country. I also have foreign colleagues and I lived with a study abroad family in Costa Rica. I’ve returned several times for research and vacationing.

I’ve not heard anything since and I understand that I am “young” in the process. I don’t know how to plan, or if I can plan for the next stages. Or how long the next stages will take.

I am also an academic with a PhD and have research opportunities this summer, but I don’t want to travel back to Costa Rica if (1) it will delay my process, or (2) make my process start over.