Applying for TS jobs with out-of-scope TS

Greetings,

I am an Active Duty Soldier and have a TS/SCI and my security contact told me I am out of scope for the investigation for a TS around August 2025. I desire to land a civilian job when I exit service November 2025. I have read from different blogs and articles that a TS clearance can be reactivated if it is within 24 months of it being last active. My concern is that 24 months period, does that also apply to the out-of-scope investigation (past the 5 year mark, i.e. after August 2025) or just when you leave an organization that requires it? I suspect that if the military knows I am going to exit service they will not do another investigation come August as I would be leaving a short few months afterwards. Some have told me to just try do the reinvestigation paperwork as soon as it comes in, although it may seize to continue if I out-process from the military. Since my out-of-scope date would be only a few months, would I still be an option for employers? Would I still be a likely option for employers? Most job applications list having an “ACTIVE” TS/SCI clearance so that is what would make me uncertain I would be a likely candidate if I am technically out-of-scope past that 5 year mark.

Army does things ass backwards and frankly are incompetent compared to the rest of the community.

You need to make sure you are enrolled in continuous vetting. As i understand it, there is no 5 year rule on re-investigations now. It’s all continuous vetting.

This seems to vary from customer to customer. Some places will be able to pick you up, while others won’t touch you.

You can put down that you are eligible for access to TS/SCI based on a background investigation dated xx/xx/xxxx.

Maybe think about affiliating with a USAR/National Guard unit which should keep you in the system :slight_smile: