Periodic Reinvestigation Help

Greetings friends. I just started a new job and have the lovely perk of being the FSO. One of our employees is in need of a periodic reinvestigation and I don’t even know where to begin. It will be a NACLC investigation. Does he have to fill out the SF86 again? Am I responsible for doing the credit checks and checking police records?

I don’t even know where to begin??? We are a govt contractor, so I am working in JPAS. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I advise you to get smart quickly by completing as many of the online classes found at DSS for new FSOs: http://www.cdse.edu/catalog/industrial-security.html

Can you request an interim clearance while waiting for you periodic to be completed? my clearance lapsed while waiting for my periodic to be approved

I had my second 5 year PR initiated in November 2012 as a contractor, I had since been deployed and changed contracting positions; then came back to the US and took a third contracting position under the same PR. The third company even sent an RRU, with no response back in April 2014. The recent contract ended in July 2014. I was debriefed and given a form by the government SSO stating that on my resume I can declare that I am “SCI Eligible.” My recent former company FSO said that I still have my TS, but the contracting company FSO said that the company cannot hold my clearance if I am not employed with them. Two other companies looking up my clearance in JPAS said that my clearance is “out of scope from November 2012” I read:

“…It can be fairly easy to reinstate within the first 24 months, as long as that falls within the periodic reinvestigation window.” (ref: Chris Michel, Military.comhttp://www.military.com/veteran-jobs/security-clearance-jobs/avoid-having-security-clearance-expire.html).