Bi personal interview

I received an email that I needed to have a telephone interview with the BI, probably over my legal situation that ran from the offense in 2006, to my conviction in 2015 and incarceration from 2016 to mid 2017. I was 22 then, I’m about to be 35 now. I’ve been working for the contractor uncleared for a little over 4 months now.

I guess it’s just to go over the question. As that is really my only issue.

It said it should be about an hour. Does anybody have any insight as to preparing for this phone call? I was expecting a face to face, which was my preference. It’s on Friday so I’d like to be prepared for the discussion.

NBIB has recently approved Investigators to conduct phone interviews in certain circumstances. That was why you were contacted. These are normally single issue interviews. Just be open and honest and answer all the questions. People get into trouble when they withhold information. Then it becomes an integrity and honesty issue. You will probably be fine.

If you are not sure that everything is accurately committed to memory, have all of your documentation at hand. Be as ready as you can be with dates and proper terminology.

Remember that “I don’t know” and “I don’t know but I can find out” are valid answers.

They shouldn’t be asking trick questions don’t over think and don’t be afraid to correct anything that the interviewer or you yourself say.

2 Likes

I just rescheduled my appointment for next Friday to give myself a chance to be more organized based on your comments.

I’ll search for any documents pertaining to mitigating circumstances etc, in case the BI hasn’t seen them. Due to the sheer amount of time between offense (2006) and final resolution (2015) I want to make sure I can show it was a situation that occurred over a decade ago.

Any other inputs are greatly appreciated. I’ll definitely do this interview from home so I can be as direct and candid as possible.