Clearance is fully processed, haven't been on-boarded. Can I apply for other clearance jobs while I wait?

Hello. I received an offer with a DoD agency September 2016. I was recently told by Recruitment that my TS clearance has been fully finished and I have been put into “awaiting placement” status. They said that this process can take a short amount of time or even another year.

ClearanceJobs.com’s definition of current is “you have had a job in the past two years that required use of a clearance”, but I have yet to actually be an employee there. I know this means my clearance isn’t “active”, but is it considered “current”?

Can I join ClearanceJobs.com? Can I apply for other clearance jobs?

Thank you! I am new to all this.

From my understanding you are able to apply for other jobs. You have two years to get picked up before the clearance becomes invalid. That is what I was told.

So in theory, say you got your clearance then your official offer from the the sponsoring agency or company. Can you decline it and take a better job somewhere else with the same clearance that they paid for? I understand on the flip side the govt can rescind offers or put you on a “awaiting placement status”, but if it doesn’t halt your investigation, would this be alright? It seems like wasting $$ to me.

Yes I agree with you. This is a grey area where someone on this site with more experience will hopefully chime in. I think until you sign the contract you are free to take that clearance anywhere. I got my DOD secret and the FSO from the company said the position was no longer available. He told me to apply to other positions within the company AND I can apply for other companies if I would like. I ended up getting an offer from a different company, and will not be working for the company who sponsored my clearance. If they don’t want to give you an immediate position, that’s their loss.