Clearance with College Disciplinary Record?

I am currently a student in college and plan on applying to a federal law enforcement position with the military that regularly accepts college graduates. The job requires that I pass a BI along with a SSBI to determine my initial eligibility for a secret clearance and eventually a top secret clearance (after a year on the job). In the Spring of 2017 I was asked by a friend to help him take a couch from an academic building so that he could have it for his dorm the next semester. Unfortunately, I agreed to help him move the couch, even though I would not be receiving any benefit from it. Later on, someone who knew what we had done ended up reporting us to the campus police. We were called in for questioning the next day and were 100% upfront and honest about what we did. After it was all said and done, I received a fine and was ordered to serve community service. My college disciplinary record has this incident listed as “Stealing/Possession of Stolen Property,” but my personal record has not been touched. I attended a counseling session before and after the discipline in order for the university to look for improvement. Since then, I have been making sure to continue to keep my nose completely clean.
Before this, I have never been involved with any bad behavior whatsoever. I have never done drugs, never gotten a traffic ticket, never even gotten detention in school. It is hard to believe that a stupid college-kid mistake like this is suddenly going to prevent me from getting my desired job in the future. In no way am I downplaying what I did; I made a awful decision and got what I deserved. Currently, I am working as an intern for a local police department and love everything about it.
Given this information, is it possible that the circumstance could be mitigated? Thank you for any advice!

I think it’s able to be mitigated with the passage of time if it comes up.