Currently cleared, being sponsored for a higher clearance

Hi all,

I haven’t been on the forum for a while so forgive me ahead of time if this has been asked.

I’m currently a contractor cleared with a DOJ Public Trust. My new employer, another federal contractor, will be sponsoring me for a Secret per my boss. He mentioned that he’ll likely be submitting me tomorrow when we return to work from the holiday.

My questions are two-fold:

1. As someone already cleared, will sponsorship of a higher clearance within the same agency in any way expedite the process or do I have to start from the beginning of the process; and either way
  2. How long does it usually take for a Secret clearance to be adjudicated, in either scenario assuming there’s no issues?

I ask the second question as it seemingly took forever to get my Public Trust a few years ago which, to my knowledge, is a relatively low clearance.

Further, I met with an investigator in person to go over what was ( if memory serves) my SF86 line by line as she asked me the questions I already filled out. At the time I had hoped I was getting a higher clearance than a Public Trust as my understanding was, at least at the time, all of that was generally required for a higher level clearance and not for a lower level one.

There was nothing wrong, no issues, etc. however, I think due to some OPM backlog or something of that ilk, it took over a year to get a very low clearance 4 years ago so I was hoping to avoid that this time around.

Thanks all for your time.

You will start from the beginning of the process.Timelines are hard to give. Will depend on your location, complexity of your case, etc.

That being said, backlog is mostly gone and workload in almost all areas is current. Process should be much faster than your last go around.

1 Like

Also, understand that a public trust is not a clearance.