Dual Citizenship with Italy

Hello,

I am very new to the clearance process and world. I am a naturalized US citizen originally from Italy, I still hold Italian citizenship and have two passports.

I am now in a position where to accept a job offer, I would have to get a DoD security clearance.
I don’t have any assets in Italy, only some friends and family, and I go there only to visit my parents maybe once every two years or so.

I have only used my US passport since I got it and I consider myself American more than anything else.

Would this disqualify me? I am willing to give in my Italian passport if needed.

Thanks!

Dual citizenship normally does not disqualify an individual, but there are certain high risk countries (Italy is not one of them) where it might. Holding a foreign passport will be an issue, and the investigator will have follow up questions. I encounter it often. You may be asked to bring all passports, foreign and domestic, expired and current for visual inspection, and be prepared to discuss each and every foreign national family and friend with whom you have contact.

General disclaimer I am not, nor have I ever been, an adjudicator.

Shredding/destroying your foreign passport with your new security officer or someone else as a witness before your interview will make your adjudication so much easier and quicker. Make copies of it beforehand for your records. If you consider yourself American only then why have it? Possession of a foreign passport can be an indicator of someone who plans to flee the country for whatever reason. When you take the oath of US naturalization there is a phrase in which you pledged allegiance to the US over other citizenships. Ultimately it’s your choice. This is America :slight_smile:

Does it really matter if you don’t have a foreign passport if you’re still a citizen of that country?