Handwriting for DCSA investigators

Got an e-mail last week telling me that some of my handwritten notes were hard to read and that I used some unapproved abbreviations. Has anyone else had this happen to them? I’ve been a contractor on the DCSA contract with one of the “big 3” companies for about three years now. Never had this happen before, never heard of it happening to another investigator. No discipline, just ‘use better handwriting going forward.’ But it was ominous. I believe I am a diligent and thorough investigator; I ask all the questions and strive to fully resolve every issue. I don’t cut corners. But here it is in 2022 and I could lose my job (or at least I am worried I will) because of bad penmanship. Madness.

Sounds like you got audited and I assume it was more than the basic run through. I’ve been spoken too a couple times over the years about illegible notes. Interesting about the abbreviations though, did they give any examples?

I had that happen to me when I was a contractor. Nothing happened afterwards. Those companies are so desperate for quality investigators, they would probably enroll you in penmanship classes before firing you. I wouldn’t worry about it

2 Likes

First time? I was spoken to about my handwriting as a contractor several times. Contractors were not supposed to use an abbreviations - I was surprised abbreviations were taught in the fed training.

I grew up in a cursive writing age - sorry auditor.

BTW - never once has anyone said anything negative about my notes/handwriting since becoming a fed.

2 Likes

I got flagged once for using the abbreviation of San Fran for San Francisco. I audibly laughed when my supervisor called and told me that.

2 Likes

The company has a multi-page memo of “examples” of acceptable and unacceptable abbreviations. WORTH NOTING: drawing a smiley face is not an acceptable abbreviation for “happy.” Some HQ person got paid to write that!