Potential Suitability Denial for resolved Tax issue

Hey guys -

I am new to this forum. I did not see anything directly on topic, so I hope y’all won’t mind me posting a question. I received and accepted a CJO in the IC about 8 months ago. Cleared the poly last month, and references were contacted this month. Last Friday, I received an email about a few past tax matters, all of which were resolved years ago. I do not have any outstanding tax issues, and all returns have been filed. I am a self-employed lawyer, and did not do a perfect job of planning for tax obligations early on in my self-employed career.

I was informed this morning that suitability is likely to be denied because it appears from the IRS transcript for 2015 that I entered into an installment agreement in June of 2016, but did not strictly abide by the terms. I can’t dispute that being the case. Either way, the IRS transcript shows all amounts owed were paid off around early March 2017. For various reasons, I was not as focused on the tax responsibility as I should have been in 2016.

My question is this - have you all ever seen a suitability denial over a long since resolved tax issue? Do IC Agencies provide SORs with opportunities to appeal something like this?

Thank you for any insight.

I guess this along with the tax issues raised a concern

Resolved financial issues with no current delinquent debt is not a suitability concern. I would question that and have them provide you with the guidelines being used and provide them with the proof that it was resolved.

Is this for a direct-hire position or a contractor?

This is for a direct-hire position as a General Attorney.

Thank you for the insight and advice, Marko. To be clear, I am being told it is a “suitability” concern, as opposed to a security clearance denial. Does that make any difference in your opinion? Thanks again.