Requirements to Proceed to the Appeals Court

Hello, ‎

Other than the SOR, what are the requirements to proceed to the appeals court? I am a federal contractor and lost my clearance in February 2018 from DoD CAF (likely foreign ‎national contacts). I hired a clearance lawyer to proceed to the appeals court, though we still ‎await ‎the SOR. ‎

I was informed today my last day with the firm is 22 March 2018, with an eligibility to rehire ‎once I resolve the issue. I have requested my company to keep me on UNPAID administrative ‎‎leave, so I appear employed on paper, thus have a fighting chance. How else can I convince the company that I should remain employed? Sadly, few companies are aware of this legal ‎practice? ‎Also, I understand the firm owes me nothing.

Any insight would be valuable. Thank you.‎

The SOR will explain the reasons that your clearance was pulled and offer the option to have a hearing in front of an administrative law judge or for written arguments to be presented to the judge. Either way, the government will provide you with a FORM (File Of Relevant Material) which is what you will respond to. You can have coworkers of others testify in writing or in person. You can call witnesses, etc. The judge will, later, render his decision. If you win, the government can take it to the appeals board. If you lose, you can take it to the appeals board.

Your lawyer should know all of this and be able to explain it. I hope I didn’t miss anything important . . .

1 Like

@EdFarmerIII, thank you for such a quick turnaround. You missed one question lol. Perhaps, because I did not explain well-- ‎