SF-86 Questions for Police Records and Drug Use

I’m a veteran applying for a position requiring a clearance and I’m trying to seek clarity on how to answer SF-86 questions for Police Records and Drug Use.

Police Records Question:

“Have you EVER been charged with an offense involving alcohol or drugs?”

While in the military I made the mistake of experimenting with a legal substance (still not scheduled at Federal level or in the state of ingestion). Had I known it violated my service’s drug policy, “Anything other than alcohol or tobacco[…],” then I would have never ingested the substance. Anyhow, I legally purchased the substance in a shop and experimented with it. Given that I did not know this was a problem, I openly talked about it with people. Someone who knew better than me caught wind of this, and I wound up in an interview room with investigators.

I still did not know this was a problem during the interview with investigators, I was under the impression that they were simply curious about the substance. I provided a written statement of my complete account with the substance. Afterward, they informed me that there may be repercussions.

After returning to work, the gravity of the situation fell onto my lap. Base legal wanted to pursue actions against me and couldn’t do much considering I didn’t violate any laws—it was a very grey area the entire time. Eventually, this infraction culminated in receiving a letter of reprimand (LOR), unfavorable information file (UIF), and mandatory drug policy violation administrative discharge. There was no court martial or Article 15 action.

On to the worst part of the story, I met all the criteria to waive the mandatory discharge, but I was discharged regardless. The officer who initially denied my waiver package committed suicide a couple weeks after denying my waiver. My CO fought for me, but to no avail, I exited service with a general discharge.