SOR from CIA. What would be the timeline for appeal?

Hi, I’m a contractor and I recently received my initial disapproval and SOR from CIA.
With the help of attorney, I was able to successfully deny all their allegations they had on SOR and sent it out this morning.

To my knowledge, even if the decision was overturned, I still need to be sponsored to receive the clearance. Not sure how this could be possible on contractor. When I received disapproval, I immediately have to find a new team that doesn’t require the clearance. I can ask for additional time so I can stay a bit longer until I get this sorted out, but I’ve seen post from this forum that even initial adjudicator hearing from CIA can take up to a year! (Not even appeal stage, just personal hearing).

I was wondering if there is anyone in this forum who went through this process and can provide some timeline for me? Most posts here are about DOD CAF or DOHA and not much from CIA.

How long would it be until I hear back for my SOR response from CIA?

Received the SOR in March 2017 and began the appeal immediately. In December 2018 they made their final decision and it was in my favor.

Thanks for the update on more recent case. It’s unfortunate that your case still took more than a year. I don’t think my company will just let me stay that long though… I am now afraid that I might have just wasted a lot of money for nothing :frowning_face:

If I could still get cleared, it woulda been totally worth as I can just go to other company that uses that clearance, but they don’t seem to grant clearance if you aren’t sponsored anymore. This is total bogus. It’s a false claim that resulted from polygraph examiner’s mistake, which I have evidence to refute. I have done nothing wrong, but somehow I have to be the one responsible for this mess. Literally heart broken.