Strange Question Concerning Someone Else

I recently learned second hand about someone who is trying to overstay his visa. Am I required to do something about it? Does it have any impact on the clearance process?

I’m not a legal expert, and you shouldn’t take this as legal advice. Rather, this is just what I can gather from google searches and common sense.

Technically, having knowledge of a federal crime and failing to report it is called ‘misprision of a felony’, and is a crime in itself. This sounds like it is difficult to prosecute because a prosecutor would first need to prove the felony occurred (which is a separate case), and then show that you had knowledge of it occurring and chose not to report it. Common sense would suggest that your chances of being charged with this crime are low unless the person is very close to you (e.g. significant other) and the person is found guilty.

Ethically, I think you should report, but only if you are sure that they are overstaying their visa. If it is totally secondhand, you might be wading into a pool of muck for little gain. It is not your duty to investigate every federal crime that is mentioned to you.

It depends. From reading your post, it doesn’t seem like the visa holder IS overstaying. Rather, he is contemplating/trying. Trying is not the same thing as doing.

How did you learn of this information? Did the visa holder tell you that himself or did you learn this from other than the visa holder? If the former, did you verify the information? If so, you have may have a legal obligation to report this not only as a clearance holder but also as a US citizen/resident.

Unless you have solid “evidence,” I would deem this as a rumor… through it is not actionable. Is this information reportable to a security officer? huh, I don’t think so…Will it have impact? I don’t think so.

Without being offensive or offending anyone, I think a good advice will be: stay in your lane.

Hearsay is the legalese term for rumor.

1 Like