Understanding job postings

Hi, I’m fairly new to DoD work. Some backstory: I had an interim secret clearance for a few months from late 2016 into early 2017, and returned to DoD work in late 2017, but in a non-clearance job, assuming another interim was just around the corner. It wasn’t, and for reasons I still don’t understand. But the full secret process got underway, and is now with the DoD in the review/adjudication stage. Recently, by way of my US Senator’s office, I learned there was information missing in JPAS which put my application on hold, and after bringing this to my employer’s attention, quit several weeks later when they showed no interest in righting the mistake (among 4 or 5 other reasons).

My question is this: when browsing jobs on this site, most seem to list “active secret” or better as a requirement, Should I take this completely literally? If so, then I will apparently need to take my job search elsewhere… Thanks.

Literally. Must be active

1 Like

Okay. A followup, then. Say I have an “active secret” clearance and that job ends for some reason. The clearance typically gets deactivated right away, correct? (AFAIK, my interim did.) In a situation like that, would that also make me ineligible for these positions?

A second followup, a little off topic. Some money changes hands when an employer sponsors you for a clearance. Would anybody confirm that the money is paid at the very start of the clearance process? I’m trying to understand how/why my employer botched such a simple item on my application and then seemingly refused to correct it. The only answer that’s occurred to me so far is “they were being cheap”.

Thanks again.

If the job posting states “Active Clearance” it’s not up for negotiation period. If you left the job before the clearance was completed then the processing stops because a clearance is tied to a position.