A rather unusual situation

I am new to this forum apologise for bothering with a somewhat odd issue and questions related to it. It would be really great to get any input.

I am a lawful permanent resident in the USA and joined the Air Force now in a job that is open to Non Citizens. I went through the whole enlistment process and MEPS and am now in the Delayed Entrance Program waiting for a ship out date.
My job is open to Non Citizens (obviously) but seems to require a secret clearance which I always thought was only possible for citizens to obtain. However, my recruiter had me fill out the sf 86 form and the clearance process has started already.
My employers got contacted and I was interviewed by an investigator recently at the recruiting station. The interview went expectedly well as my life was always very straight forward and I never got in trouble with the law, credit, etc.

According to my recruiter, I have to be cleared first before I can get a ship date for basic training, apparently this is a rather new rule and it makes sense to me. From what I researched online, the key term here is “Military Security Suitability Determination”,MSSD.

Here are my questions:

1. What is the difference between the MSSD and the Security Clearance ?
  2. Is it right to assume I can NOT be given a Security Clearance as a Non Citizen ?
  3. If that is indeed the case, how will I be able to do my job that requires the clearance.
  4. How is the investigation that I am going through right now different from a “normal” investigation ? What is part of it ? Is it more lenghty than the “normal” process (and I assume longer taking) ?
  5. I keep reading on this blog that there is so much delay in the process and that things seem to take so long, but how can it be that not even a month ago, I “signed up” for the Military and already my employers and my former college were contacted and I already had my interview ?