DoD Secret Time with Extensive Foreign Residence?

Confused Secret Clearance Applicant here. The Average DoD secret seems to be 103 days, but I’ve had significant foreign residence for most of my life + foreign family members. Moreover, I will be overseas during the entire investigation and adjudication (I am a college student studying overseas). Good news is that I can begin working right after I submit my e-QIP, and I do not have to wait for either Interim/ Full Clearance to start. How long can I expect my clearance to take, and how accurate is the 103 day estimate for candidates with a background similar to mine?

Looking for a rough estimate here since I assume nobody can give me concrete numbers. Thank you!

These official statistics either reflect some timeline that does not count weekends/holidays/paydays/etc, or some alternate universe that has yet to be discovered by mere mortals.

In other words, that timeline is bunk, at least if you compare it to the actual time that applicants wait, as measured from the moment they hit “submit” on the eQIP to the moment they get the word that their clearance has been granted.

Six months seems to be a more realistic average, and your case sounds like it will be more complicated.

1 Like

A friend did Peace Corps in an Eastern European country after college, then married someone from that country and has stayed there since. The job will be there, so that’s the reason he stayed. Anyway, he’s been waiting almost two years for a DOD Secret and his current residence/ marriage are 100% the reason for the delay.

2 Likes

As I mentioned in my post, a condition of employment for my internship would be to just “apply for the clearance”/ “hand in my e-QIP”. Do you think I can work for the entire summer (duration of my internship) without ever getting a clearance? – assuming my clearance hasn’t been adjudicated the entire time I’m working.

Thank you!