Foreign relationship

After retiring from the military, I’ve been working and living abroad for over seven years now. I have accepted a position back in the US that will require a Secret security clearance. I held a top secret while on active duty for over 20 years.

For the past 4 years I’ve been in a gay relationship with a Brazilian guy and we eventually want to marry and have him join me in the US.

So how will this all play out with the clearance investigation process? Is this going to disqualify me for a clearance or should I possibly think of ending the relationship?

All MY opinion . . . If you have been living outside of the U.S. for seven years and you have a company willing to submit you for a clearance, THEY don’t think that living outside the U.S. and having the number of foreign contacts that you do will prevent you from clearing.

ANY intimate relationship with a foreign national is going to present an issue for the investigation. His job and his family could be issues. Does he have any family with government or military ties? The fact that it’s a gay relationship shouldn’t make any difference. Ending the relationship will not make much of a difference either. You’re going to have to list him as a contact and there’s no way to prevent it from looking like you ended the relationship in order to get your clearance and THEN bring him here.

Be prepared to spend a lot of time talking about this . . .

1 Like