Have secret clearance and got arrested

Okay, this is incredibly hard for me to write and I’ll try to be brief. I’m a civil servant for the DoD with no criminal history with a secret clearance. I don’t know if it matters but I’m a veteran and my current job has taken me to Afghanistan before.

Two months ago, my teenage daughter said she would create a scene if I tried to take her cell phone away after she was being disrespectful and I told her to give it to me. An incident ensued and for legal reasons I can’t say more. A neighbor saw this and called the police and I was arrested for felony family violence, a very serious charge.

My daughter, who wasn’t hurt, and I have reconciled. She’s been working with my lawyer, who is confident that we can beat this case. CPS is involved. I’m out on bond and I wasn’t ordered out of the house.

We have to have a secret clearance to work where I do. We rarely need them except for some TDY locations, which I won’t be forced to go to. This means people at work are pretty ignorant about what we have to do if something like this happens.

Anyway, when this happened I asked a couple of coworkers, my lawyer, and our union rep if there was some obligation to report this. They all said no. I’ve been waiting for 2 months to be indicted and it still hasn’t happened, yet. I was going to self-report this incident when my clearance is re-investigated.

I thought the matter was settled until my court date but I saw some stuff on the internet this weekend that said I should have immediately reported this arrest to our security manager.

So with that out of the way, here are my questions:

1. Is it true that I have to report an arrest even though there’s been no conviction?
  2. If I should have reported it and I report it now, what is probably going to happen? Am I going to be immediately fired because I took too long?
  3. What will probably happen if I wait until I’m re-investigated to report this incident?