How long is long enough?

If you were accused of alcohol on the breath in 2002 and again in 2015, how much weight will the 2002 accusation have related to the 2015 one? Is one mitigated by time or does it show a pattern?

I am not a lawyer or anything but as far as I know, having alcohol on your breath is not a crime.

Getting pulled over by the police and then being given a breathalyzer test which detects alcohol, that might be a different issue. And I think in that case, the charge might be Driving Under the Influence.

So let’s assume that’s what we’re talking about here. They might be interested in digging into this a little deeper.

Thanks sbusquirrel. I’d rather it didn’t happen but…owell. I agree with you that Guideline G doesn’t say “alcohol on breath” but everyone always assumes that you’ve been drinking…even if you haven’t. If the government establishes “alcohol on the breath” as a sign of impairment, then it will be up to me to either explain, refute, or mitigate it.

There is no question pertaining to alcohol on breath on the SF86. There are ever questions pertaining to arrest, convictions. I think you need to be a little more forthcoming. Were you arrested, charged or convicted an an alcohol offense? It is hard to mitigate if the offense is unknown.

I’m wondering if the two will be linked. That’s all.