How to follow up on "Eligibility Pending" status?

My e-QIP submittal for a National Security Position (Secret) as a contractor was submitted Oct 2, 2016. In mid-December my FSO informed me that the application was “Eligibility Pending”. I understand the Eligibility Pending status, but do not know how to respond / find out more detailed information. As far as I know, my background is clean as a whistle.

My FSO asked if I had been contacted by the FBI or OPM. I have not been contacted. The FSO then suggested I write a letter to Defense Management Data Center (DMDC), Attn: Privacy Act Office to request further information and perhaps ask for an interview. Does anyone have any experience submitting a letter? Sample wording perhaps, and what was the result.

The contractor may have another position available that does not require a Secret clearance, but that does require a (less stringent) investigation for issuance of a CAC. Problem there is that you can’t have two e-QIP investigations active at the same time, so we’d have to kill the first to initiate the second. Which would be Ok with me because I actually like the other position better, but am concerned about starting the entire process over again (time wise).

Any advice / experience will be much appreciated.

A CAC card can be issued based on a submitted investigation. All they have to do is look into OPM’s database and see that an investigation is in progress and use that information to issue the CAC.

Thank you for your quick response.

Based on an earlier informal chat, my FSO seems to think that to move forward with the CAC we will need to cancel the current “Eligibility Pending” investigation and initiate a new one. Of course, even if that’s true, based on what you’ve said it might not take long to approve the CAC if we could proceed once the new investigation is started.