Need Advice on if a charge will harm me

I am currently a student in my second year of college. I am very involved on campus, have a high GPA and am a very active community member. I recently got an internship offer from a defense agency, and the position requires a secret clearance. I do not know much about clearances and how all of this works honestly, but the recruiter told me that there would be an investigation done. My concern is that about two months ago, I was caught using a fake ID. I was charged with a misdemeanor, but the prosecutor dropped the charges against me. All that shows on my record is that I was charged, and never convicted. Besides this, I have no other history and am a very clean student, but I was wondering if there is a possibility that this inhibits my ability to continue with this job, and how to best address it with the recruiter.

Fully disclose the issue and explain why you did it and if there is any chance of reoccurrence. DO NOT, DO NOT try to hide it and don’t let a recruiter tell you otherwise. The Investigator will find it. You’ll be asked about it and be totally honest and upfront and admit the wrongdoing. If you do that, things are in your favor.

If the recruiter won’t let you proceed, that is their prerogative, but recruiters do not speak for the investigative process. When you fill out that SF 86, disclose it!

3 Likes

There are more experienced people in this forum that can answer your question. As previously mentioned do not hide your misdemeanor in your SF86 or during the interview. Even though you were charged and not convicted it still will show in public records. You will not be the first or last college student that will have transgression with the law due to immaturity and lack of common sense.