Need some advice sf85p-s

So I filled out my sf85p-s form about 2 months ago… 2 weeks after submitting my form I interviewed with my background investigator… and since then was given my eod date and have started work…I received a phone call today regarding my investigation from my investigator it’s been 2 months since my background investigation interview I’m still new to this I didn’t hide anything so that’s not a concern…so is this bad or no just curious.

Keep waiting. These things take time. A public trust can take from a few months to more than a year to receive a final determination.

What did your Investigator want?

Well I wish I new fed-investigator…I have called back a few times yesterday after receiving the call…but they have never returned my call maybe because the holiday weekend I’m not sure…I thought after you do your interview with the investigator and they finish up and confirm stuff it’s sent to adjudication…but guess I was wrong the message said they have been working on my background investigation and wanted me call thus far that’s all I no…I just am wondering is this common to be contacted after interview!?

Yes. Maybe someone above them wants more information. Maybe a date didn’t match. Many reasons.

Any one of the following could cause the investigator to contact you again:

• In going over their report, they realized they forgot to ask something or needed to clarify something
  • Some information was developed by another investigator working in another area
  • If it is a contractor their own internal QC may have flagged something
  • The final QC may have caught something
  • The adjudicator wants some more info
  • etc etc etc

Maybe I’m just an optimist but I see it as a good sign because a) it shows they are actively working the case and b) it is probably pretty far along in the process, especially if it was a question from an adjudicator

1 Like