Subject interview

Seven months since submitting SF-86, and now I get to meet with the special investigator next Friday! I have a silly but genuinely serious question…What should I wear to the interview? Is it like a job interview where I should dress up? Or can I wear neat, but casual clothing like jeans and a sweater?

Also, I just discovered that references could be contacted after the interview. (All this time I thought the subject interview was the last step and that it would happen after all references/verifiers were contacted. I’m still learning.) I also know that not all references are necessarily contacted. I’m just curious as to how long that particular part of the process (contacting, and maybe even visiting references) takes after the subject interview. I know there’s no exact timeline. And I’m pretty relaxed/patient about it, so it doesn’t really matter to me. Just curious about how long it might have taken for others.

Thanks!

Business casual is appropriate attire for the interview. Sometimes the investigator will interview you at your job (if you have one) so whatever you wear to work will be fine. Depending on the investigator, they may go directly to interview your references after the interview. They will usually call you if they have an issue contacting a reference. From that point, it depends on how fast they can finish their report and push it up the chain. After the investigation is complete, it is up to the hiring agency or OPM for contractors to adjudicate it.

1 Like

Whatever makes you comfortable and what is appropriate for the interview setting.

Also, bring names, addresses, and phone numbers for any friends or coworkers from the last seven years. This will help a great deal.

I made a post about a month ago on how to help yourself after the EQIP submission. This also briefly covers the subject interview. Go back and find the post… it will help.

1 Like

I found your post. That helps a lot!