Types of investigatons

I have over 12 years experience as an investigator on the OPM contract. I recently took a new job working for a DOD contractor (non investigative in nature) which requires me to have a secret level clearance. I had a SSBI-PR done within the last two years. During the process of switching jobs, I found out that as investigators, we do not get adjudicated for a TS/SCI, TS, or Secret level clearance. We only get a “favorable adjudication.” Therefore, my recent PR investigation was not accepted as legitimate and I had to start the whole process of being investigated for a Secret clearance all over again. Why doesn’t the government investigate for an actual clearance eligibility in this type of situation? It seems like a waste of a lot of money and time spent on thousands of investigations when we have to go through the same investigative standards as everyone else but we only get rated as having a “favorable adjudication” and aren’t given a positive eligibility status.

1 Like

If the investigation was favorably adjudicated and you did not have a break in employment of more than 24 months then it should have been acceptable under reciprocity guidelines. Regardless of whether or not you were granted a clearance, you were deemed eligible if access was needed. The security personnel at this agency should know that.

Marko,

This information came from a high up in the PSMO-I office. I had never
heard that before and neither had my Personnel Security Manager. I only
need a secret level now (which is in process right now) but there is a
chance my position will require a TS in the near future. It would suck to
have to go through a whole new SSBI and wait for it to come through when I
might not need to do that because of my most recent PR investigation.